Wettbewerb  |  Weimar
Die Gewinner des 2. Weimarer Poetryfilmpreises

Die Gewinner des 2. Weimarer Poetryfilmpreises sind die Filme STANDARD TIME (Hauptpreis), HEARTBREAK (Special mention) und THE LAST TIME (Publikumspreis).

Die Jury des 2. Weimarer Poetryfilmpreises, bestehend aus der Filmemacherin Ebele Okoye (Berlin), dem Weimarer Schrifsteller Stefan Petermann und dem US-amerikanischen Dichter und Poetryfilmexperten Dave Bonta, wählte den deutschsprachigen Beitrag STANDARD TIME (2017) von Hanna Slak und Lena Reinhold – nach einem Gedicht der Berliner Lyrikerin Daniela Seel – zum Sieger des mit 1000,- € dotierten Jurypreises.

Die Jury begründete ihre Entscheidung wie folgt: »Standard Time is a timeless, self-referential meditation on the power of communication to transmute and, at times, distort. Its flawless blend of text, sound and images suggests a worldview both deeply rooted and universal, shamanistic and apophatic. It does what all great poems should do in suggesting more than it says and leaving the viewer’s mind abuzz with creative energy and new ideas. Addressing the poetic possibilities of time as it does, it can almost be seen as a film about poetry film itself.«

Der irische Film HEARTBREAK (2017) von Dave Tynan wurde ebenfalls von der Jury als besonders wertvoll ausgezeichnet. Zum ihm bemerkten die Juroren: »What questions can a poetry film take? Perhaps: in what kind of a world do we live? And in what kind of world do we want to live? In a stirring manner, Heartbreak pursues this question. The film by Dave Tynan tells the story of a young, Irish girl who unintentionally gets pregnant and had to raise her son all on her own. At the same time it is the history of a misogynist structured society and this, not only in Ireland, but everywhere in the world. Carried by the passionate, multi-faceted oration of the Spoken- Word poets Emmert Kirwan, an efficient camera and a wise narration Heartbreak plays around the questions of self-determination about own bodies, objectification, sexism and gender roles. The film succeeds in an impressive way, to translate the powerful words into touching images while remaining clear and direct. Tynan and Kirwan know how to arouse empathy, stimulate thoughts concerning a situation, but above all, anger!, yet, looking into the future with confidence. Heartbreak is a feminist poetry film for women and men. Courageous, angry, heartbreaking; an exclamation mark. A film the world must see. C’mere, C’mere, C’mere.«

Den mit 250,- € dotierten Publikumspreis gewann der englische Film THE LAST TIME (2016) von Christine Hooper.

Förderer des Wettbewerbs sind die Kulturstiftung des Freistaats Thüringen, die Thüringer Staatskanzlei und die Stadt Weimar.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier: